Week of April 20, 2003


Andrew Abbott - bass
Geoff Brown - vocals
Dave Caswell - woodwind
Richard Pannell - guitar
Leslie Podraza - drums
John Smith - woodwind
Harald Beckett - trumpet, flute, horn
John Hughes - trombone
Lyle Jenkins - sax
John Morton - keyboards
Tony Roberts - sax, flute
Tommy Thomas - percussion

Strange Pleasure (Deram Nova (S) DN 4) 1969
New Dawn (Deram SML 1075) 1970
Reissued on one CD (Two Of Us 002)

I Wrapped Her In Ribbons/Hermit And The Knight (Deram DM 306) 1970

Galliard set out as an extremely eclectic band on their debut LP, "Strange Pleasure". They juxtapose a woodwind/horn section slyly with rural compositions, creating a pastoral, even medieval atmosphere, starkly contrasting to nervously urban passages, although they borrow from Art Nova's "Wrapped Her In Ribbons" and give the credits to Geoff Brown. An interesting effort. "New Dawn" is even more schizophrenic. Hosts of wind parts over a tight rocking backdrop are estranged with naggingly dissonant sitar on the highlight, "Ask For Nothing", a strongly philosophical number. If you can stand some horns, these are worthwhile albums to own. The single has a non-album B-side. 

They also feature on the Nova Sampler playing "Skillet". "I Wrapped Her In Ribbons" has been compiled on See For Miles' "Progressive Pop Inside The Seventies" CD.

Dave Caswell also played on Keef Hartley Band's legendary "Overdog" and "The Time Is Near" albums (together with Lyle Jenkins) as well as with Ashton Gardner & Dyke, Kevin Ayers, John Entwistle, Paice Ashton & Lord, Leigh Stephens and Chris Youlden.

Lyle Jenkins played with Ashton Gardner & Dyke, Kevin Ayers, Leigh Stephens and Silverhead.

(Marcel Koopman / Vernon Joynson)

Taken from The Tapestry of Delights - The Comprehensive Guide to British Music of the Beat, R&B, Psychedelic and Progressive Eras 1963-1976, Vernon Joynson
ISBN 1 899855 04 1

Back to Alex's Home Page