Week of June 18, 2006

Wallace Collection

Sylvain van Holmen - guitars
Christian Janssen - bass
Freddy Nieuland - drums
Marc Herouet - keyboards
Raymond Vincent - violin
Jacques Namotte - cello

(l-r: Guido Everaert, Serge Ghazarian, Raymond Vincent, Marc Herouet, John Valcke, Freddy Nieuland, Sylvain Van Holmen)

Laughing Cavalier - 1969 ODEON 2C 062-04036
Wallace Collection - 1970 ODEON 2C 062-04522
CD: Laughing Cavalier/Serenade EMI 07243 875989 2 8, 2004

A marginal case for inclusion, as this must be considered a pop group who only occasionally made tracks anywhere near the fringes of progressive rock. Their hit "Daydream", based on Tchaikowsky's "Swan Lake", was a million seller across Western Europe.

Taken from Scented Gardens of the Mind - A guide to the Golden Era of Progressive Rock (1968-1980) in more than 20 European Countries, by Dag Erik Asbjørnsen, Borderline Productions, ISBN 1-899855-12-2

Thanks to Stephan Koenig for the pictures and the website link!

To the Official Wallace Collection Website

Back to Alex's Home Page