Week of November 27, 2005

Julian Jay Savarin

John Dover – Bass
Nigel "Zed" Jenkins – Guitar
Jo Meek – Vocals
Roger Odell – Drums
Julian Jay Savarin – Keyboards

Waiters On The Dance (Birth RAB 2) 1973
(reissued on Five Hours Back (TOCK 002) in 1987)

Akarma AK 161, 2001

I Am You/Kizeesh (Lyntone LYN 3426) 197?
(issued as a Corgi Books sampler)

Julian Jay Savarin was the leader and main songwriter in Julian's Treatment. He wrote, directed, and played on the 1970 double concept album, ‘A Time Before This’. It is based on the book, ‘Lemmus, A Time Trilogy - Waiters On The Dance’, which Savarin wrote. A poet and writer, as well as a musician, he used his multi-talented focus to his advantage on many different projects.

‘Waiters On The Dance’, originally released in 1971 and re-released by Akarma Records in 2001, comes attractively packaged with the original artwork in the vinyl and CD formats.

A concept album with excellent music seems to be more ear catching than any other type of recording. When you know that there is a story behind the music, better yet an entire book, the entire picture begins to formulate in your mind’s eye. When you then take that formula and add powerful guitar riffs, grinding organ and Lady Jo Meek's (later with Catapilla) voice to tell the story and set it all in motion with feeling, you have all the elements for a successful musical endeavour that spells progressive rock. This LP is a classic that deserves an abundance of attention by those that appreciate what this captivating genre has always had to offer its devout listeners. I am like many of you; I had never heard of this album before and felt entirely blown away by its impact. I am sure you will be too, and then you will wonder why you had not heard of this sooner. As the saying goes… better late then never, get it now!

The books in Savarin's trilogy are: Lemmus One: Waiters on the Dance, Lemmus Two: Beyond the Outer Mirr and Lemmus Three: Archives of Haven, all in the sci-fi genre.

Reviewed by: Keith "Muzikman" Hannaleck, January 2003

Personnel and Discography taken from The Tapestry of Delights - The Comprehensive Guide to British Music of the Beat, R&B, Psychedelic and Progressive Eras 1963-1976, Vernon Joynson   ISBN 1 899855 04 1

Back to Alex's Home Page