Week of September 10, 2006


Gary Boyle – Guitar
Jeff Clyne – Bass
Brian Miller – Keyboards
Nigel Morris – Drums
Hugh Hopper – Bass
Lawrence Scott – Keyboards
Zoe Kronberger – Vocals

Isotope (Gull 1002) 1974
CD: Air Mail Archive, AIRAC-1150, Japan
Illusion (Gull 1006) 1974
CD: Air Mail Archive, AIRAC-1151, Japan
Both of the above on one CD: See For Miles SEECD 432
Deep End (Gull 1017) 1976
CD: Deep End… Plus, See For Miles, SEECD 731, 2001
The Best Of Isotope (Gull 1024) 1979

A well-respected jazz-rock outfit fronted by Indian-born guitarist Gary Boyle, who'd played with Brian Auger, Keith Tippett and Stomu Yamash'ta previously. Clyne and Miller returned to the jazz scene from whence they'd come after their first album and their replacements included former Soft Machine bassist Hugh Hopper. Vocalist Zoe Kronberger was added to the line-up for their third album. He also later guested on the first of Boyle's two solo albums recorded after Isotope split up in 1976.

Taken from The Tapestry of Delights - The Comprehensive Guide to British Music of the Beat, R&B, Psychedelic and Progressive Eras 1963-1976, Vernon Joynson   ISBN 1 899855 04 1

Back to Alex's Home Page