Week of December 9, 2007

Delta Blues Band

Troels Jensen - guitar, organ, vocals
Thomas Puggard-Müller - guitar
Bent Hesselman - flute
Søren Engel - bass, vocals
Michael Puggard-Müller - drums

Delta Blues Band, 1969 Parlophone 6E062-37038

Album By Delta:
2200, 1977 DEMOS 39

Album By Delta Blues Band With Billy Cross:
Overdubs, 1979 KONG PÆRE KPLP 4

A Copenhagen group who made one of the first Danish multi-track recorded rock albums. This is a great progressive blues-rock effort with superb guitar work throughout! Delta Blues Band built their sound around the first Beefeaters album and couldn't be accused of being blues purists (their tracks incorporated equal amounts of beat and psychedelia). The Puggard-Müllers soon left the group to join Robert Lelievere's new group Pan. Other line-up changes followed, leaving Troels Jensen as the only original member in 1972. His later LPs contained more traditional blues-rock and cannot be compared to the 1969 album.

Taken from Scented Gardens of the Mind - A guide to the Golden Era of Progressive Rock (1968-1980) in more than 20 European Countries, by Dag Erik Asbjørnsen, Borderline Productions, ISBN 1-899855-12-2

Back to Alex's Home Page