Week of February 9, 2003


Antti Ortamo - keyboards, vocals
Milla Vasenius - guitar
Jouko Helatie - guitar
Petri Peltola - bass
Jukka Marjala - drums

"Atlantis" (1976) LOVE LRLP169
Reissued on CD by Si-Wan, SRMC4050

A symphonic rock group from Rovaniemi formed in 1974. Their main influences were Yes, Pink Floyd, Procol Harum and Wigwam. "Atlantis" (1976) contained only four tracks, fronted by Ortamo's organ and vocals. Their music wasn't very original but had strong melodic elements, sharing the melancholic beauty with the songs of Jukka Gustavson. All lyrics were in Finnish.

Taken from Scented Gardens of the Mind - A guide to the Golden Era of Progressive Rock (1968-1980) in more than 20 European Countries, by Dag Erik Asbjørnsen, Borderline Productions, ISBN 1-899855-12-2

Back to Alex's Home Page